Skip to Content / Sautez au contenu Skip to Access keys / Sautez au Touches d´accès
OR   Go directly to most popular site features

About


Overview

The Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) is a Provincial agency, established February 23, 1998 under the Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996. The Act gave the AGCO responsibility for the administration of the Liquor Licence Act and the Gaming Control Act, 1992. Complementary legislative amendments eliminated the Gaming Control Commission and the Liquor Licence Board of Ontario. On April 1, 2016, the AGCO assumed responsibility for regulating horse racing in Ontario under the Horse Racing Licence Act passed in December 2015.

The AGCO is a regulatory agency that reports to the Ministry of the Attorney General, and is responsible for the administration of the following:

  • Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996 (Sections 3 and 4)
  • Liquor Licence Act
  • Gaming Control Act, 1992
  • Wine Content and Labelling Act, 2000
  • Liquor Control Act (Section 3(1)b, e, f, g and 3(2)a)
  • Charity Lottery Licensing Order in Council 1413/08
  • Horse Racing Licence Act, 2015

Copies of statutes and regulations can be obtained from the ServiceOntario Location at 777 Bay Street (College Park Building), Market Level, Suite M212, Toronto, Ontario. To order copies by mail, call: 1-800-668-9938 (toll-free in Ontario), Toronto 416-326-5300 or visit their web site at ServiceOntario Publications.

AGCO Vision

A leader in the alcohol, gaming and horse racing sectors through effective regulation and services that are fair, responsive and in the broader public interest.

AGCO Mandate

To regulate the alcohol, gaming and horse racing sectors in accordance with the principles of honesty and integrity, and in the public interest.

Mission Statement

The AGCO commits to conducting business in a manner that will:

  • Develop, implement and enforce fair policies and procedures.
  • Establish a framework of critical regulatory controls in the public interest that are sensitive to the economic viability of the alcohol, gaming and horse racing industries.
  • Be client focused in the way we respond to and manage client and stakeholder needs.
  • Educate clients and stakeholders and develop partnerships.
  • Create a supportive work environment that respects and values AGCO staff contributions and provides them with opportunities for growth and professional achievement.

Background

The AGCO, established February 23, 1998, assumed responsibility for the administration of legislation previously administered by the Liquor Licence Board of Ontario and the Gaming Control Commission. On April 1, 2016, the AGCO assumed responsibility for regulating horse racing in Ontario under the Horse Racing Licence Act passed in December 2015.

Liquor Licence Board of Ontario: Established in 1947 under the Liquor Licence Act, the Liquor Licence Board of Ontario was responsible for regulating the sale, service and consumption of beverage alcohol in Ontario to promote moderation and responsible use.

Gaming Control Commission (GCC): The GCC was established under the Gaming Control Act in 1994. The GCC was responsible for the regulation of charitable and casino gaming, for ensuring that those people and companies involved in casino and charitable gaming satisfy high standards of honesty, integrity and financial responsibility, and that games of chance are conducted fairly.

Ontario Racing Commission: Originally established in 1950 under the Racing Commission Act, the Ontario Racing Commission was responsible for regulating the horse racing industry in the public interest and in accordance with the principles of honesty and integrity, and social responsibility. In 2000 the Government of Ontario passed new legislation called the Racing Commission Act, 2000. The Act converted the Ontario Racing Commission to a self-financing regulatory agency with a Governing Board.

Skip to Content / Sautez au contenu Skip to Access keys / Sautez au Touches d´accès
OU   passer directement
aux caractéristiques les plus recherchées du site

CAJO en bref


Vue d´ensemble de la CAJO

La Commission des alcools et des jeux de l´Ontario (CAJO) est un organisme provincial qui a été créé le 23 février 1998 en vertu de la Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public. Cette loi rend la CAJO responsable de l´application de la Loi sur les permis d´alcool et de la Loi sur la réglementation des jeux de 1992; d´autres modifications à la loi ont éliminé la Commission des jeux et la Commission des permis d´alcool de l´Ontario. Le 1er avril 2016, la CAJO se voit confier la responsabilité de réglementer les courses de chevaux aux termes de la Loi de 2015 sur les licences de courses de chevaux qui a été adoptée en décembre 2015.

La CAJO constitue un organisme de réglementation qui relève du Ministère du Procureur général. La Commission des alcools et des jeux de l´Ontario veille à l´application des lois et du décret suivants :

  • Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public (alinéas 3 et 4)
  • Loi sur les permis d´alcool
  • Loi de 1992 sur la réglementation des jeux
  • Loi de 2000 sur le contenu et l´étiquetage du vin
  • Loi sur les alcools (alinéas 3(1) b, e, f, g et 3(2) a)
  • Décret 1413/08 sur la délivrance de licences de loteries de bienfaisance
  • Loi de 2015 sur les licences de courses de chevaux

Des exemplaires des lois et règlements peuvent être obtenus chez Centre ServiceOntario au 777, rue Bay (College Park), Niveau du marché, bureau M212, Toronto (Ontario). Pour commander des exemplaires par la poste, composer 1-800-668-9938 (sans frais en Ontario) ou, à Toronto, (416) 326-5300, ou consulter le site Web de ServiceOntario Publications.

Vision de la CAJO

Être un chef de file dans les secteurs des alcools, des jeux et des courses de chevaux grâce à une réglementation et des services efficaces, qui sont équitables, qui répondent aux besoins et qui servent l’intérêt public dans son ensemble.

Mandat de la CAJO

Réglementer les secteurs des alcools, des jeux et des courses de chevaux en respectant les principes d´honnêteté et d´intégrité tout en veillant à l´intérêt public.

Énoncé de mission

La CAJO s´engage à mener ses activités de façon à répondre aux critères suivants :

  • Élaborer et mettre en oeuvre des politiques et des procédures équitables et veiller à leur application.
  • Établir un cadre de mesures de contrôle réglementaires essentielles pour veiller à l´intérêt public qui sont sensibles à la viabilité économique des industries des alcools, des jeux et des courses de chevaux.
  • Répondre aux besoins des clients et des intervenants.
  • Sensibiliser les clients et les intervenants et établir des partenariats.
  • Créer un milieu de travail qui respecte et valorise les contributions des employés de la CAJO et qui leur donne la chance de se réaliser sur le plan professionnel.

Contexte

Le 23 février 1998, la Commission des alcools et des jeux de l´Ontario a assumé la responsabilité de veiller à l´application des mesures législatives dont la responsabilité incombait auparavant à la Commission des jeux et à la Commission des permis d´alcool de l´Ontario. Le 1er avril 2016, la CAJO se voit confier la responsabilité de réglementer les courses de chevaux aux termes de la Loi de 2015 sur les licences de courses de chevaux qui a été adoptée en décembre 2015.

Commission des permis d´alcool de l´Ontario : Créée en 1947 par la Loi sur les permis d´alcool, la Commission des permis d´alcool de l´Ontario devait réglementer la vente, le service et la consommation des boissons alcoolisées en Ontario de manière à promouvoir la modération et la consommation responsable.

Commission des jeux : La Commission des jeux a été créée en 1994 en vertu de la Loi de 1992 sur la réglementation des jeux. Elle était chargée de la réglementation des jeux et des casinos et de s'assurer que les entreprises et les particuliers organisant des casinos et des jeux de bienfaisance respectaient des normes rigoureuses d´honnêteté, d´intégrité et de responsabilité financière et que les jeux de hasard se déroulaient de manière juste.

Commission des courses de l’Ontario (CCO) : Créée en 1950 en application de la Loi sur la Commission des courses de chevaux, la Commission des courses de l’Ontario était chargée de réglementer l’industrie des courses de chevaux dans l’intérêt du public et conformément aux principes de l’honnêteté, de l’intégrité et de la responsabilité sociale. En 2000, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a adopté une nouvelle loi appelée la Loi de 2000 sur la Commission des courses de chevaux. Conformément à cette loi, la Commission des courses de l’Ontario est devenue un organisme de réglementation autofinancé doté d’un conseil d’administration.